skip navigation
Home Tickets Game Details News About Past Games

About the All-American Prospects Game

The CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game brings together 40 top American-born prospects eligible for the National Hockey League Entry Draft, which takes place each spring. Players selected to compete in the game are chosen by USA Hockey in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting.

The inaugural game took place on Sept. 29, 2012, at First Niagara Center in Buffalo, New York. Team McClanahan defeated Team Housley, 5-2 (Game Recap). Among the participants, three were chosen in the first round of the 2013 NHL Entry Draft -- Seth Jones (Nashville, 4th overall), Michael McCarron (Montreal, 25th overall) and Ryan Hartman (Chicago, 30th overall). Other notables included Ian McCoshen (Florida, 31st overall), J.T. Compher (Buffalo, 35th overall) and Steve Santini (New Jersey, 42nd overall).

The second annual contest was held Sept. 26, 2013, at CONSOL Energy Center in Pittsburgh, Pa. Team Johnson topped Team Mullen, 5-2 (Game Recap). Five of the competitors went on to be selected in the first round of the 2014 NHL Entry Draft -- Dylan Larkin (Detroit, 15th overall), Sonny Milano (Columbus, 16th overall), Alex Tuch (Minnesota, 18th overall), Anthony DeAngelo (Tampa Bay, 19th overall) and Nick Schmaltz (Chicago, 20th overall).